Modest Mouse - Lonesome Crowded West

Write a Review

Subject to it's own Pitchfork documentary, listed in numerous prestigious Best Albums of the 90s lists, and destined to be re-discovered by continuous generations, THE LONESOME CROWDED WEST stands as the defacto Northwest indie-rock record. Originally released in 1997, it not only helped shape the sound that came to be associated with the American Pacific Northwest, but across these sprawling, wide-open 15 songs, Modest House helped redefine what was possible for guitar music. As such, THE LONESOME CROWDED WEST has often been mimicked, but it's awesome open-hearted existentialism and manic ambition has rarely been matched. A modern classic that demands reappraisal.

1 Teeth Like God's Shoeshine
2 Heart Cooks Brain
3 Convienent Parking
4 Lounge
5 Jesus Christ Was An Only Child
6 Doin' the Cockroach
7 Cowboy Dan
8 Trailer Trash
9 Out of Gas
10 Long Distance Drunk
11 S*#t Luck
12 Truckers Atlas
13 Polar Opposites
14 Bankrupt on Selling
15 Styrofoam Boots/It's All Nice on Ice, Alright